top of page

Caleb Gaskins Q&A


To conclude April’s live evaluation periods, a sizable contingent of college coaches and national media descended onto the campus of Legacy Sports USA located in Mesa, Arizona for Nike’s EYBL Session II.

Pro Insight was on-hand to cover the event and caught up with Caleb Gaskins of Nightrydas Elite (FL) and Holy Trinity Episcopal Academy (FL). Ranked #4 in the 2026 ESPN25, Gaskins is currently averaging 17.3 points, and 7.3 rebounds on 40% shooting from three after two sessions in the E15 division of the prominent EYBL circuit. Standing at 6’7”, the rising sophomore is loaded with physical tools, athleticism and size and has provided strong flashes of shot creation and two-way upside. The youngest player in attendance during the USA Basketball Junior Men’s National Team October 2022 minicamp, Gaskins is still only 14 years old and has one of the highest long term ceilings in the class of 2026.


As part of the Pro Insight Q&A series, Gaskins talked about modeling his game after Kevin Durant, his interest in ceramics, his life goals after basketball, and much more.


For the next installment of the Pro Insight Q&A series, we present 2026 prospect Caleb Gaskins, from Melbourne, Florida:


Pro Insight: How did you get to where you are today? Talk a bit about your background and family.


Caleb Gaskins: I'm from Melbourne, Florida. It's a small town. I live with my mom and my two brothers. And you know, I'm just here to play basketball and do it all for them.


PI: Any other athletes in the family?


CG: Yeah, my little brother. He plays with our 7th grade team. My sister is a basketball player too and that's pretty much it.


PI: Did you play any other sports growing up?


CG: Yeah, I played football.


PI: What position did you play?


CG: I played quarterback.


PI: For those who aren’t familiar with your game, what are your greatest strengths and playstyle?


CG: My greatest strength is probably scoring the ball. My playstyle is more of a Kevin Durant and I'm a little versatile. I can play one-through-five. I mean, it comes a lot easier with my height, too.


PI: Who do you model your game after or study on film besides KD?


CG: I really only studied Kevin Durant, but I also studied Brandon Miller.


PI: What do you feel you still need to improve on the most? What have you been working on?


CG: I'm currently working on everything throughout my body, but mostly getting stronger in my legs, for sure.


PI: What are your short term goals you have for yourself as a player?


CG: My short term goal as a player…let me see…(thinking thoughtfully) I don’t know. My only goal is just to be the best I can be. I mean, that's all I can say.


PI: Turning to your recruitment, what are your current offers?


CG: I currently have four offers. Offers from Georgia, Baylor, Jacksonville University, and Florida State, and I'm currently ranked #4 in the [ESPN] 2026 class.


PI: Who would you like to hear from?


CG: Right now, probably North Carolina. My brother played football there and I’ve just really liked the school ever since then.


PI: What will ultimately be your deciding factors when making your choice?


CG: Probably just a welcoming team and a good coach.


PI: You attended both October and April USAB Junior National Team minicamps — what was your biggest takeaway?


CG: You know, it was a great experience. I had a good time and I think I've shown that I could play with the best in the country.


PI: What are your biggest interests outside of basketball?


CG: My biggest interest is probably ceramics.

PI: What are some things you have made in ceramics?


CG: I made a couple of vases, plates, and bowls. That's it.


PI: Who are your favorite music artists?


CG: My favorite music artist right now...that’s a hard question. I'll probably say Rod Wave.


PI: You have one hashtag to describe yourself. What is it?



PI: What’s the best advice you’ve ever received?

CG: The best advice I received is probably just, “never stop and always keep pushing for it.” No matter what I'm going through, just pushing through adversity and never quitting.


PI: Who’s someone you really look up to?


CG: My mom, because I'm really doing this basketball stuff for her, and I want to help her out in the long run in the future — and that's what's keeping me motivated.


PI: If you woke up tomorrow to see an extra $1,000,000 in your bank account, what would be your first purchase?


CG: I'd buy my mom a house.


PI: What is your dream NIL deal and why?


CG: I haven't really thought of it, about the NIL stuff. I know it’s going to come in the future, but probably I would say Nike.


PI: Name four words that best describe you.


CG: I'll probably say genuine, trustworthy, honest, and disciplined.


PI: At the end of the day, what do you hope to be remembered for?


CG: I’d like to be remembered as…well, that's kind of hard. I don't really know yet. I don't wanna be remembered as just a basketball player. I would like to be remembered by my other accomplishments throughout life, not so much a basketball player.

PI: What are some accomplishments that you have in mind?

CG: I would say some of my accomplishments that I would be looking forward to is doing real estate after basketball. Like I don't want to be just a basketball player and live off my basketball money after I retire.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page