top of page

Efeosa Oliogu Q&A

Updated: Aug 12, 2023

2025 prospect Efeosa Oliogu has been one of the most productive players on the Under Armour circuit for the past two seasons regardless of class, leading all scorers in the 2023 17U division during the April live period sessions at 20.8 points per game. Competing up in age groups since sixth grade, the 6’6” wing helped Canada Elite (CAN) reach the 2023 17U UAA Finals. With United Scholastic Academy (CAN) in the OSBA league, he formed an electric backcourt duo with Old Dominion’s incoming freshman Vasean Allette. A downhill threat with two-way upside and physical tools, Oliogu has earned invitations to the BioSteel All Canadian Next Ones Up Game, NBPA Top 100 Camp, UA Elite 24, and Curry Camp. In addition to these accolades, he holds over a dozen college offers and will find no shortage of suitors from alternative pathways when the time comes to make a decision. Along with Spencer Ahrens and Will Riley, Oliogu headlines one of the deeper Canadian high school basketball classes in recent years.

In this interview with Pro Insight’s Conrad Chow, Oliogu discussed what he learned from playing against older age groups in his young years, the brotherhood at Canada Elite, his recruitment update, openness to professional routes, and much more.

For the next installment of the Pro Insight Q&A series, we present 2025 prospect Efeosa Oliogu, from Markham, Ontario, Canada:

Pro Insight: How did you get to where you are today? Talk a bit about your background and family.

Efeosa Oliogu: My name is Efeosa Oliogu. I'm 17 years old. Turned seventeen a while ago. I have a Nigerian background so both of my parents are actually from Nigeria. They came over when they were 20 years old. And you know, growing up I watched my parents struggle and saw what they did. You know, it makes me want to be better and do better as a person.

PI: Any other athletes in the family?

EO: So the reason I got into basketball I would say is because my whole family is athletic. Like all my siblings played basketball, they all played throughout elementary school through secondary school. But yeah, they didn't really take it as seriously as I did, but I feel like I definitely got it from them.

PI: How many siblings do you have?

EO: I have four siblings. I'm actually the youngest out of five.

PI: When did you primarily start to focus on basketball?

EO: I mean, I feel like maybe since grade two…like, I've always said maybe I want to be in the NBA one day. I always liked playing basketball, but I guess I never really took it seriously until maybe not only a lot of people saw potential, but also I saw the potential myself and it was just something I wanted to do because I just loved basketball so much.

PI: You grew up in Markham — how is the basketball culture in the Greater Toronto area?

EO: Yeah, I'll say Canada is very multicultural — like I feel like there's a lot of races. We all mix well together, as well. It's not like it's anything that's bad, but I'll say like we all fit together well. Even at my school being one of maybe even like the only black kids in my class or whatever it may be, but I just feel like basketball was always just like a big impact on me. I played basketball growing up with all my friends. They like basketball, too, so I feel like basketball in itself in Canada is a big topic and I feel like we’re slept on over here.

PI: For those who aren’t familiar with your game, what are your greatest strengths and playstyle?

EO: I would say I'm pretty aggressive when it comes to going downhill, scoring, and breaking out in transition. I feel like that’s at the top [of my strengths]. Whereas when I play defense, I feel like I'm a really good on-ball defender. I enjoy playing defense as well so that's another thing. I'll say my shot has been getting a lot more consistent, now. I was a really good catch-and-shoot threat, but now being able to shoot off the dribble and extend my game more and more as much as I play is just a good thing, and I feel like everything is really coming together.

PI: Who do you model your game after or study on film?

EO: I don’t watch a lot of college basketball or NBA, but I definitely enjoy watching Giannis, or if not Giannis, maybe like Jaylen Brown. I feel like my playstyle matches Jaylen Brown’s. So yeah, I kind of try to model my game after him. I'll watch this film and see what he does.

PI: You have played against older age groups — how have you grown as a player through those situations?

EO: I've actually been playing up since like grade six. I feel like I've been playing up for as long as I can remember, but just being able to play up and still matching the energy and the intensity with the people who are older than me, by the time I get there, I feel like there will definitely be a gap. But you know, I feel like I've developed a lot differently than I would if I played my age. I've also been in situations where I'm not the number-one option on the team even though I'm really good at whatever, so just being able to adapt and be able to get my own and do what I still have to do, it’s definitely helped me develop as a person and as a player.

PI: Describe your experience with Canada Elite.

EO: I would say the brotherhood is definitely very strong. I've been with Canada Elite since grade four or grade five. So they’ve just been watching me grow up, always have my back, always push me to my limit. It's definitely a good thing and another thing about Canada Elite, they don't really turn on their players even like the group that I'm with now, I feel like I've been with them forever so we all grow together, we all get better together. We all have that chemistry together. So that's another good thing.

PI: What are your short term goals you have for yourself as a player?

EO: I don't like to aim too high sometimes, but as of right now I feel like my main goal that I definitely have is to play Division 1 basketball. There’s a lot of players my age or even older, that’s something they want to do, but also, that's definitely a short term goal. But that's about it as of right now. It’s always getting to the next step.

PI: Who has been the toughest individual matchup you’ve ever faced?

EO: Actually, it was pretty recent. I was grateful enough to attend the NBPA Top 100 Camp in Florida and just being around all the top players, all the five-stars, all the people who are ranked above me, just to be in the vicinity of all these great players, it definitely helps me develop my game and see who I’m going to be there with at the next level and stuff like that and who I'm going to go against.

PI: What is your recruitment update? Who have you been hearing from the most, lately?

EO: I feel like maybe three schools come to mind. I would say Maryland is definitely one of them like they've been contacting me. Georgetown is another one, and Mizzou. Missouri is very recent. I got that offer not too long ago, but ever since I got it, they've been very consistent and showing a lot of love and care.

PI: Do you have a dream school growing up?

EO: I mean, growing up, I would definitely say I really liked UCLA. Like back when I was younger, I felt like UCLA was a good school. I feel like back then I liked Lonzo Ball. I liked Lonzo Ball a lot a while back. My whole family did, so I feel like UCLA was definitely a place I wanted to go to, but I feel like as I got older, I kind of, not shifted away from that, but I'm more of a person now where like wherever I fit the best and wherever I feel like they're gonna do their thing and take care of me, that's where I'm going to go.

PI: Which schools are you hoping to visit in the near future?

EO: Coming up, I definitely want to go to Maryland. I've been there a couple of times, but I haven’t taken an official visit there. Also, Mizzou, that’s also been another one. I just always want to see what the schools are offering, see if you like the school program, see how everything is before I decide where I want to go.

PI: There are a lot more post-grad options available these days with G League Ignite, OTE, and NBL, among others. Have you and your family done much research into those opportunities or heard from them?

EO: I've actually been reached out to by Overtime (OTE) and I feel like it's all good basketball, a good opportunity. That's also something that I would be considering as well, playing overseas, whether it's overseas, NBL, etc. As long as I get to the end goal, which is the NBA, I'm fine with doing anything.

PI: What are your biggest interests outside of basketball?

EO: One thing I do I guess is sleep a lot. I feel like that's something I do like on a regular basis. Even when I don't have to, I'm always sleeping, and if not sleeping, then I like spending time with my friends or family. I don't really play video games, I don’t really do much. I'm just always either with friends or family.

PI: Who are your favorite music artists?

EO: I'll say Sheff G and Sleepy Hallow, right now. But when it comes to music, I'm actually like all over the place. I like rap, hip hop, R&B, and even afrobeats. I feel like I’m very well-rounded when it comes to music.

PI: You have one hashtag to describe yourself. What is it?

EO: I feel like either #KeepGoing or #TheTrainNeverStops ‘cause I feel like I'm always going. You know I'm never making excuses for anything, like if something needs to be done, I'm going to do it.

PI: If you woke up tomorrow to see a fortune in your bank account, what would be your first purchase?

EO: Well, I mean, depending on what it is, I feel like not only would I get something for myself, I feel like I definitely get something for my mom. My mom has also been through a lot and also done a lot for me. Whether it's a house, a car, I don't know. Something. I don't think I would really want anything for myself, maybe like a pair of shoes.

PI: Favorite shoes to wear on and off the court?

EO: Off the court, definitely Jordans. I enjoy wearing Jordans. I’ll say my favorite Jordan shoes, probably Jordan 4s. But either Jordans or on the court, I'm an Under Armour type of guy, so any type of Under Armours I'm willing to wear.

PI: What is your dream NIL deal and why?

EO: Oh, that's a good question. I actually have to think it out. I would say maybe Ethika, the underwear brand because I have a lot of it already. I mean, I like the bright colors. I like the designs. I like all of it so that will be one, for sure.

PI: Where do you see yourself in five years?

EO: I know certain things don't happen overnight, but I definitely see myself doing some damage in the NBA, being maybe one of the top players. Yeah, just being able to do my thing. The same thing I'm doing now, I'll be able to do in the next five years. And yeah, that's about it.

PI: Name four words that best describe you.

EO: Quiet, energetic, introverted, and outcast.

PI: At the end of the day, what do you hope to be remembered for?

EO: I want to be known as a person who never gave up on what I wanted to do. Not only that, but also I never stopped working and never stopped doing what I had to do. I just want people to know me for me — that I was a very chill, nice person, easy to talk to. I would like to still be like that for a long time.


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page