Fabio Basili


Credit: @dfritzphotos (IG)

To conclude the summer AAU cycle, The Circuit Championship at the Fantastic 40 brought together elite sneaker-affiliated and independent programs under one roof. Taking place at the Tarkanian Basketball Academy in Las Vegas, Pro Insight was on hand to cover the four-day event. In between games, we caught up with Fabio Basili of Oakridge High School (FL) and E1T1 (FL).

Basili put on a show over the weekend as he consistently put up points, played with energy, and made his teammates better. Standing at 6’3”, he’s equipped with the ideal size to play on or off the ball and did a great job putting pressure on the defense. After a strong summer, look for him to hit the ground running entering his senior season.

As part of the Pro Insight Q&A series, Basili discusses his game, his recruitment, his culinary skills, love for fishing, and more.

For the next installment of the Pro Insight Q&A series, we present 2022 prospect Fabio Basili, from Orlando, Florida:


Pro Insight: Talk a bit about your background.


Fabio Basili: I come from Orlando, Florida. I’m a hard-working kid, I’m humble, and I just want to succeed and be the best at everything I do.


PI: Expand a bit on what it’s like to grow up in Orlando.


FB: A comforting place for me is the gym, that’s where I live at. Other than that I don’t have too much to say. I live in the gym.


PI: Do you have any other athletes in the family?


FB: Yessir, my dad played basketball and so does my little brother.


PI: Where did your dad play?


FB: He originally played in Italy up in Milan.


PI: Describe your game — what are some of your strengths?


FB: Some of my greatest strengths are my handles and my vision. I can get to the rim any time I want and I can make the right pass when it’s needed.


PI: What about some improvement areas?


FB: I’d probably say getting stronger and dunking. Once I get my dunk package in I feel like things will be much better for me.


PI: You have a wide variety of passes in your repertoire — where do they come from?


FB: My dad. He always pushed me to do that. He always told me that’s a simple pass and like you said, you noticed it, and if I’m able to do that then that’s an assist. So I always work on that.


PI: Who are some of the players that have impressed you at this event?


FB: Definitely my teammates, we got Dillon Mitchell and Bruce Thornton. Those boys are always fun to play with and I enjoy playing with them.


PI: You’re part Italian — have you participated in any national team events? Would you be interested?


FB: Yessir. I don’t know exactly what I have planned, but I would definitely be interested in playing for the national team.


PI: What’s the update with your recruitment?


FB: I have a bunch of schools looking at me and I don’t want to leave any out or nothing. I have a good variety and they’re still coming in.


PI: What are you looking for in a program in terms of fit?


FB: For my fit, I would like a school to put trust in me and push me to be the best, but not tear me down. I want to be pushed to be the best to help me get to the next level.


PI: Do you have any dream schools?


FB: No, sir. Whoever is going to give me the best opportunity and whoever is going to show me the most love where I can feel at home.


PI: How do you view your role at the next level?


FB: I would say it could be multiple things: set up plays, set up my team, or get a bucket. Also I want to be a lockdown defender.


PI: What is lacking