top of page

Jamie Edoka Q&A




Every adidas Next Generation Tournament features a “select” team that includes players from theoretically weaker teams to give them a stage to show themselves at the highest European level. It was quite surprising news when Jamie Edoka, a German prospect who had just turned 16 at the time, was nominated for the first time ever.


Following the event, Florian Kurth met up with the talented guard and talked about his move to Frankfurt, leaving his family behind, off-court interests, some of his ambitions, and more.


For the next installment of the Pro Insight Q&A series, we present 2008-born prospect Jamie Edoka, from Frankfurt, Germany:


Pro Insight: How did you get to where you are today? Tell us a bit about your background and your family.


Jamie Edoka: First of all, I'd like to thank you for the opportunity to do this interview. I come from a village called Göllheim, which is in Rhineland-Palatinate. I've been playing soccer since I was very little. I started playing basketball when I was eight, but soccer was still my priority at that age. When I was 11, my focus switched to basketball, and at that time I was playing for my home club TV Kirchheimbolanden. In 2021, during the coronavirus period, I moved to Frankfurt to join the Fraport Skyliners and moved into boarding school in 2022.


PI: Are there any other athletes in the family?


JE: We are a sports-loving family, but no one in my family was active at a competitive level.


PI: Other than soccer, what other sports did you play as a child?


JE: In addition to soccer, I also did gymnastics and karate.


PI: Did you have any favorite athletes as a child?


JE: LeBron James really inspired me back then.


PI: Anyone in particular that you model, follow, or watch highlights of on Youtube?


JE: Not really a role model, but I try to learn a lot from Maodo Lô (Columbia Lions alumni and current player for Olimpia Milano)


PI: For those who are not familiar with your game: What are your biggest strengths and playing style?


JE: I would describe myself as a flexible player, especially in positions 1 and 2. My strengths include my court vision and my athleticism.


PI: What are your current measurements?


JE: I am 192 cm tall (6’3.5”), weigh 85 kg (187 lbs.) and have a wingspan of 214 cm (7’0”).


PI: What do you think you need to improve the most? What have you been working on?


JE: At the moment I'm mainly working on my shooting and ball handling.


PI: How is the season going for you personally with the U16 team, but also with the ProB team?


JE: Because I'm mainly used in the U19s, I've only played eight games with the U16s so far, but the playoffs are just around the corner and I think we have a good chance of going far. I'm training with the ProB (third-highest pro-league in Germany) and have already seen some minutes.


PI: How do you deal with the adversity of defeat?


JE: After defeats, it helps me the most to look at what I and we as a team did wrong with a bit of distance in order to understand why we lost and how we can improve.


PI: What short-term goals do you have for yourself as a player?


JE: First of all, I want to improve the things mentioned above to show what I can do at the next level.


PI: Can you imagine going to college in the USA one day?


JE: I can imagine that in principle, but I haven't given it too much thought yet, to be honest. I'll take it as it comes and see what opportunities open up for me.


PI: What are your biggest interests outside of basketball?


JE: Outside of basketball, I like to meet up with friends or just relax.


PI: Who are your favorite musicians?


JE: I listen to a lot of things, but if I had to choose one, it would be Reezy (German rapper).


PI: If you woke up tomorrow and saw a fortune in your bank account, what would you buy first?


JE: I think I would probably buy something simple like basketball shoes or clothes.


PI: If you weren't pursuing a career as a professional hooper, what would you be doing?


JE: I don't really know, yet.


PI: Who is someone you really look up to?


JE: Definitely my family in general. They always support me 100%, they always have my back and are always there for me. I've learned a lot of things from my older sister.


PI: Are you more introverted or extroverted?


JE: I think it always depends on the situation and the people around me.


PI: What is something that most people don't know about you?


JE: Because I used to be one of the tallest, I always played center until I was 13 years old (laughs).


PI: What is your favorite food?


JE: My mother's food.


PI: Where do you see yourself in five years?


JE: Five years is an extremely long time. I'll let the future come to me and then see where I am in five years' time.


PI: Name four words that best describe you.


JE: Ambitious, patient, relaxed, thoughtful.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page