top of page

Derrion Reid Q&A


Coming off a productive summer with Team Thad (TN) where he averaged 17.9 points, 6.5 rebounds and 2.1 assists during the EYBL regular season, 2024 wing Derrion Reid earned his fifth star and ranks as a top-15 player in the senior class. At 6’7”, Reid possesses a blend of physical tools, athleticism, and two-way upside. As he enters the 2023-24 season, the Georgia native will team up with five-stars AJ Dybantsa, Tyran Stokes, Aiden Sherrell, Zoom Diallo, and others on one of the deepest teams in Prolific Prep history as they look to contend for the GEICO Nationals title.


In this interview with Pro Insight’s Conrad Chow, Reid talked about his basketball journey, moving to the West Coast and the opportunity to attend Prolific, deciding factors in his pending college decision, and more.


For the next installment of the Pro Insight Q&A series, we present 2024 prospect Derrion Reid, from Augusta, Georgia:


Pro Insight: How did you get to where you are today? Talk a bit about your background and family.


Derrion Reid: My name is Derrion Reid, class of 2024. I grew up in Augusta, Georgia, and have been there my whole life. That's where I grew up and that's where I was raised. I started off with a team called GCK (Garden City Kings) locally, then I went to Team Dickerson. And then I played with Team TSF, a couple of hometown guys were also on that team from that year and I ended with Team Thad during the past EYBL season.


PI: How has the transition been from Georgia to California?

DR: It's way different. Obviously school has way less kids, way smaller, but then I was just looking at the bigger picture. Obviously, on the basketball side I knew I could get better and just working every day, it's really helping me on and off the court. And just being able to focus on basketball is good.


PI: How did the opportunity come about to attend Prolific Prep for your senior year?


DR: It came down to the wire. There were probably over 10 prep schools coming at me. I told all of them “no” at one point. We had made it clear that we didn't want to attend prep. And then like last minute, my mom and I really sat down and tried to look at the bigger picture, and this was where my future led me. They told me to pray about it and this is where I ended up and then God just led me this way. So I just thank Him for everything for getting here.


PI: How important is your faith to you?


DR: It’s very [important]. I went to a Christian school when I was young until seventh grade. I only moved for basketball to public school. Faith is a big part of my grandma’s life and my whole family is really religious, yessir.


PI: For those who aren’t familiar with your game, what are your greatest strengths and playstyle?


DR: Very versatile. I can get to the rim easily. I like to make everybody around me better. I like to be a team player before a “me” player and that's why I feel I could fit in a lot of teams and that's why I have fit in a lot of teams, a lot of systems, different systems.


PI: Who do you model your game after or study on film?


DR: LeBron is my favorite player. I started off with Kevin Durant. That's why I wear #35. When he was in OKC, I always grew up watching him on that team with Russell Westbrook and all of them, so KD, Jayson Tatum, LeBron, Paul George, too. Those are my favorites to watch.


PI: How has the recruiting process been so far?


DR: It's been great along this journey to see how far basketball could really take you. It's taking me to a lot of places, a lot of cities I've never been to and just meeting new coaches, building a relationship with different head coaches on my list of schools, and a lot of worldwide coaches. Just the connection that I had with them and just being able to really connect with them on and off the court and besides basketball, they made it personal, knowing that they were there for me no matter what on and off the court, so it's been great.


PI: Any college coach you say you’ve formed the closest relationship with and why?


DR: That's a hard one. I've formed so many relationships, I don't know.


PI: What will ultimately be your deciding factors when making your choice?


DR: The same thing I chose when I came here [at Prolific Prep] is looking at the bigger picture and definitely somewhere I can make an immediate impact, be able to make those around me better and just a good relationship with the head coach, a good relationship with the coaching staff, assistant coaches and just feeling like it's home. That's pretty much what I'm looking for.


PI: What are your biggest interests outside of basketball?


DR: I would say hanging out with my girlfriend. That's all, I think (laughs). Just that and being in the gym. That's pretty much it.


PI: Who are your favorite music artists?


DR: Lil Baby, for sure.


PI: What are your favorite TV shows, movies, books?


DR: Fast and Furious and Uncle Drew. And what else? That's probably all I can think about at the top of my head. and Annie — that's an old school one right there — and that's pretty much it.


PI: You have one hashtag to describe yourself. What is it?


DR: #Unbreakable, because I'm strong-minded and I don't let nothing break me. I push through everything.


PI: If you woke up tomorrow to see a fortune in your bank account, what would be your first purchase?


DR: Everybody in my family gets a house (laughs). But yeah, just make sure my mom is straight, my grandparents straight. Everybody that looked out for me when I was growing up and coming up and believed in me, just make sure everybody around me is straight and then I get it myself, you know.


PI: Who’s someone you really look up to and why?


DR: My mom. I’d say my mom is my role model, for sure. Well, I grew up in a mother-only house, so it's like up to this point, knowing I was younger than everybody in my grade, like I was going to re-class down because I just turned 17 [years old] in June so I'm younger than everybody in my class. So just knowing she's showing me everything, it's like life was coming fast at me, just her helping me through all the situations I've been in, her being there to help me with decisions, but knowing it's my decision at the end of the day, but like giving me the facts of the situations and everything just on and off the court. She's always had my back. When I'm down, when I'm up, she’s always there. That's pretty much it.


PI: Do you have any siblings?


DR: Only child. I’m glad I’m an only child.


PI: What is your dream NIL deal and why?


DR: In the future, I would take a shoe deal no matter what it is. Nike, Under Armour, Adidas, Puma, anything.


PI: Name four words that best describe you.


DR: Versatile. Funny. I like to joke on and off the court. I'm saying inspirational. On and off the court, when I go back to my hometown, they look up to me and I like to give back to the kids. A leader. I like to lead everybody around me. That's pretty much it.


PI: At the end of the day, what do you hope to be remembered for?


DR: My personality on and off the court, the way I handle everything around me and just for who I was, like, just being a great person. Obviously basketball, too. Yeah, that's it.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page