Elliot Cadeau Q&A


Credit: @saturninophotography (IG)

The Pangos All-American Camp is an invite-only event and has served as a premier stage for high school players to showcase their skills and talents in front of national scouts, media, and video outlets. Pro Insight spent the week in Las Vegas and caught up with Elliot Cadeau, formerly of Bergen Catholic High School (NJ), now Link Academy (MO), and NH Lightning (NY). Throughout the event, Cadeau showcased his skills getting downhill and making plays for himself and others.


Cadeau was an early entry into the top-10 rankings for his class and has maintained his status over time. Having dual citizenship with both the U.S. and Sweden, Cadeau was recently selected to the Men’s U18 National Team for Sweden. He also became the first American high school athlete to sign an international NIL deal with the Swedish vitamin drink Vitamin Well and Flowlife.


As part of the Pro Insight Q&A series, Cadeau talked about his family background, experience with the Swedish National Team, what drove him to basketball, and much more.


For the next installment of the Pro Insight Q&A series, we present 2024 prospect Elliot Cadeau, from West Orange, New Jersey:


Pro Insight: What have you been hoping to prove to evaluators this week at Pangos All-American Camp?


Elliot Cadeau: I want to prove that I am the best guard in the country, regardless of class. I am playing against the best guards, and I want to prove that I am better than them.


PI: For those who don’t know your game, how would you describe it?


EC: I would say I am a pass-first point guard. I like getting my teammates involved, but I can also score when necessary.


PI: What would you say are your biggest strengths?


EC: My biggest strengths would be my IQ and quickness. I think I can get past anybody I want and can make the right play when needed.


PI: What would you say is the most underrated part of your game?


EC: That quickness, nobody talks about that but I feel like I’m faster than everybody on the court.


PI: Over the next few years, what would you say you’ll look to work on the most?


EC: Shooting. I know at the next level you have to shoot the ball at a really high rate, and I’m just working on that because the better I can get my shot, the more money I could make in the future.


PI: What are you looking for in a college program both on and off the court?


EC: I am looking for a team that can develop me, a coach that can develop me. I’m looking for a playstyle where I can showcase everything I can do.


PI: What schools are talking to you most?


EC: Texas Tech, Tennessee and Syracuse.


PI: Is there anyone else you’d like to hear from that hasn’t reached out yet?


EC: I would like to hear from a lot of schools…blue blood schools.


PI: There’s obviously the pro options, are you considering that?


EC: My options are open. I think in the future I would love to go to college but that option to go pro early would be a blessing.


PI: Could you share a little bit about your background and where you’re from?


EC: I’m from West Orange, New Jersey. My parents are immigrants; my mom is from Sweden and my dad is from Haiti.


PI: Talk about your experience with the Swedish National Team.


EC: I learned a lot over there. I played a lot and as soon as I am done with this camp, I’m flying back to Sweden to play with them.


PI: Describe growing up in the northeast and the level of basketball in the area.


EC: I grew up in New Jersey — I feel like that’s the best basketball state, guard-wise. I feel like growing up there really pushed me, because everybody in New Jersey is always in the gym together, no matter what team they play on. I am always working out with the best players in the country, they always make me better.


PI: Who is the best player from that area that you have played against?


EC: I would say Tahaad Pettiford, he’s very underrated and he’s really shifty — offensively he’s hard to guard.


PI: What made you start playing basketball? Did you play any other sports growing up?


EC: I played every sport growing up like football and baseball, but once I started playing basketball, I fell in love with it and I just stuck with that. I haven’t played another sport since the fourth grade.


PI: When did you start basketball?


EC: When I was nine years old, going into the third grade.


PI: Is there a playstyle you’re looking for in a college program?


EC: I just want to come off a lot of screens, have shooters around me and have freedom.


PI: Who have been your biggest influences and role models growing up?


EC: My brother, he is a D1 tennis player, and I’ve always wanted to be better than him. I competed against him in everything even though I didn’t place tennis. I just wanted to be at his level, playing D1 at my sport.


PI: What are your interests off the court?


EC: I like hanging out with my friends. I’ve been off the court for these past four months because I’ve been injured, and I realized that basketball is just the main thing I do.


PI: What’s something that most people don’t know about you?


EC: I’m deaf in my right ear. I can’t fully hear out of my right ear. It was something that I was born with.


PI: How have you compensated in basketball with your ear?


EC: It hasn’t held me back at all, I’m used to this. I feel like my world is quieter.


PI: Who are your top-five music artists right now?


EC: Lil Durk, Future, Gunna, Destroy Lonely, Sweat Tea YB


PI: Favorite shoes to wear on and off the court?


EC: I like Kobes on the court and off the court, any retro Jordans.


PI: Where do you see yourself five years from now?


EC: I see myself as a professional basketball player. The best player I can be, whether it’s overseas or the NBA. I just want to be the best player I can be, making money doing what I love.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All