Mor Seck


Credit: Eduardo Garcia

A native of of a small village outside of Dakar, Senegal, Mor Seck has found a way to turn his natural gifts into potential college (and beyond) basketball opportunities in the near future. Growing up, Seck worked on his family farm tending to peanut and corn crops while hoping to one day play basketball “in the city.” After a growth spurt and showing off his talent, he emigrated to the United States to play high school basketball at Archbishop Riordan in San Francisco, California. Standing 7’0” tall with a chiseled 220-pound frame, he has slowly risen up the national ranks in the 2022 class, catching the eye of multiple college programs along the way.  


As part of the Pro Insight Q&A series, Seck discusses his unique background, adjusting to the United States, what motivates him, the latest with his recruitment, and more.


For the next installment of the Pro Insight Q&A series, we present 2022 prospect Mor Seck, from Dakar, Senegal:


Pro Insight: Tell us about your background. 


Mor Seck: My name is Mor and I’m from West Africa — from a village outside of Dakar, Senegal, actually — my village is called Ngayene Daour. I grew up in the village until I was like 12 or 13 years old, then I went into the city to play basketball in Dakar for one year. After that I came to the United States to play with Archbishop Riordan. I don’t have any siblings, I’m an only child. The city or village I come from is really hard, I usually work on the farm. 


PI: Are your parents farmers? What do they farm?


MS: Yes, they’re farmers. We planted peanuts and corn, that type of stuff. Those are the things we do on the farm. 


PI: Where do you get your height from?


MS: My dad is not tall, he’s actually maybe 5’10” and my mom is 6’0”. My grandpa is tall, he’s 7’0”. 


PI: Did your grandpa play sports as well? 


MS: No, I have a lot of uncles who are tall, but when you’re in the village you don’t know a lot of sports like basketball. It’s kind of hard to play basketball over there. You don’t have help because we’ve been poor so you don’t have money to come to the United States to play basketball. It’s kind of hard to come here. 


PI: How did you wind up in the United States? 


MS: So when I was younger, basketball was on my mind and I would talk to my dad and tell him I want to play basketball. I didn’t really know basketball when I was younger, but it was on my mind. Every time I would tell my dad, “I want to go to the city to play basketball” I never think I’m going to come to the United States. So when I went to the city, a lot of people wanted me to play basketball over there. My cousin has a brother in the United States and he has a high school that plays basketball. So when I played for one year [in Dakar], they had contact with the high school in the United States, and they wanted me to come play for them in the United States. 


PI: How has the adjustment been?


MS: That was tough, because when I came to the United States I realized my life is different. Where I come from, it’s kind of hard over there, life is hard over there. When I came here I looked around at all the different things we don’t have back home, that was kind of crazy. That’s why I try and work hard, to help my mom and my family. To make my mom and dad proud, and my friends as well. 


PI: How much does your upbringing motivate you? 


MS: Like, it motivates me a lot because when I see the people from my country to play here that makes me feel happy. I just want to make my family and country proud of me, I want everyone proud of me. That motivates me to play good, [I] think about my mom, think about the city I grew up in back home, that’s kind of hard. 


PI: What are your ultimate goals as a basketball player? 


MS: I want to be the best, I want to play in the NBA. I want to try my best to play in the NBA, that’s what I want. 


PI: Any players you model your game after?


MS: Yeah, I usually watch AD in the NBA game. I just watch what they do and after the game I try to do that, so that makes me feel better. Because I’ve been playing basketball for like three years now, so I’m growing tall and I’m still playing basketball. 


PI: Did you hit a growth spurt and grow to 7’0” tall? 


MS: When I got tall I think I was sick for like five days when I was younger, that’s what my mom said. So when I came to the United States I wasn’t 6’11” yet, now I’m 7’0” or 7’1”. 


PI: What’s the update with your recruitment? 


MS: Yeah, I have a lot of interest and I have four offers now from Kansas, Oklahoma State, LMU, and USF. A lot of people, they want me. 


PI: What are you looking for in a school?


MS: At the school I’m looking for I just want to play more time in the game, I want a coach who can help me out and understand my situation. 


PI: What are your biggest interests outside of basketball?