Shaedon Sharpe


Credit: @dfritzphotos (IG)

Not too many prospects have ascended onto the national stage over the past year as quickly as Canadian guard Shaedon Sharpe. First playing on the international stage at the 2019 FIBA U16 Americas Championship, Sharpe moved to the U.S. to attend Sunrise Christian Academy (KS), before suiting up for Dream City Christian (AZ) last season. Playing on The Grind Session circuit, he made a name for himself and showcased his pro athleticism and elite scoring package. In July, Sharpe dominated the Nike EYBL, averaging 22.6 points, 5.8 rebounds and 2.7 assists per outing. With a top-five of G-League Ignite, Arizona, Kansas, Kentucky, and Oklahoma State, Sharpe is the next man up for Canada.


As part of the Pro Insight Q&A series along with On Point Scouting (OPS), Sharpe touched on his background, studying Bradley Beal’s game, what he’s looking for in a school, and more.

For the next installment of the Pro Insight Q&A series, we present 2022 prospect Shaedon Sharpe, from London, Canada:


Pro Insight: Talk a bit about your background.


Shaedon Sharpe: I live in London, Ontario (CAN), which is two hours away from Toronto. I moved to Kansas to go play with Sunrise Christian [in 2019] and then the next year, I came to Dream City [Christian] out in Arizona to come play for them. I am out here now.


PI: Do you have any siblings?


SS: I have an older sister as well as a younger brother.


PI: Can you remember a time growing up that speaks to your competitiveness amongst siblings?


SS: I don’t really have a story from our time together as kids but in general, we were so competitive. Whether we played board games, ball, or video games, we were always so competitive.


PI: Did you play any other sports growing up?


SS: The only other sport I played was football. Growing up, the choice was always going to be between football and basketball, and I ended up picking basketball.


PI: What made you fall in love with basketball?


SS: I’ve always loved basketball, even while I played football. It was always football or basketball. What grew my love for the game I would say is we would go play at the YMCA as kids and just being so competitive [as a group of kids].


PI: What are your current measurements (height, wingspan, weight)?


SS: I am 6’4 with a 7’0 wingspan and I weigh around 200 pounds.


PI: For those that aren’t super familiar with your game — what are your greatest strengths?


SS: I would say attacking the rim, finishing above the rim as well as my mid-range game. I like to create space to get my shot off.


PI: What do you feel you still need to improve on the most? What have you been working on?


SS: I would say I need to improve my ball-handling, more control, more pace. I also work on creating space and getting my shot off quicker off the dribble.



PI: You’ve played high school basketball in the U.S. for the last couple years — what went into the decision to move down and what’s been the biggest takeaway for you?


SS: I'm going to be totally honest. The level of competition down here in the United States is better, simply everyone here is serious about basketball and is trying to get to the highest level. So I just want to be around those guys that can push me really hard, that I can go at.


PI: Who has been the toughest individual matchup you’ve ever faced?


SS: I would say TyTy Washington who’s at Kentucky, right now. He went to AZ Compass. Every game was a tough game, and we just went at each other.


PI: Who do you model your game after and try to study on film?


SS: I study a lot of Bradley Beal. I’m just trying to study him the most, because I feel like I resemble him…like the height, not being as tall, and being able to create the space and stuff. So I watch a lot of Bradley Beal.


PI: Describe this past season at Dream City Christian. What was the highlight?


SS: Just being able to, especially during COVID, being able to play in front of fans and coaches and showcasing ourselves every game. That’d probably be the highlight.