Aidan Shaw

Updated: Mar 18


Credit: @lookwhatcartershot (IG)

Standing 6’8” with a plus-wingspan, Aidan Shaw fits a highly sought-after role in college basketball. He has the ability to guard multiple positions, has timing as a shot blocker and can play passing lanes quite well. Shaw also has developing ball skills, impressive vertical athleticism and can nail the corner 3. While he is still working on his handle and shooting package, he has shown really positive progression in his development.


Playing for Blue Valley High School (KS) and representing MOKAN Elite (MO) on the EYBL circuit, Shaw has offers from Arkansas, Missouri, Kansas and Kansas State, among others. While he does have family ties to one of the schools in his recruitment, he is still wide open and communicating with other interested institutions. He has been trending up the rankings in the high school class of 2022 for a while and it seems that by EYBL play, he will continue his ascent.


Shaw will provide versatility that fits a need at just about every high major program, with a goal of playing professionally. Shaw also has a tight family bond, emphasizes relationships with his coaches, teammates and friends, with a major appetite for education in general.


This interview delves into Aidan Shaw’s background, his most memorable basketball achievements, his interest in a particular genre of fiction writing, his likely college majors, what he is working on to prepare for college basketball, and much more.


For the next installment of the Pro Insight Q&A series, we present 2022 prospect Aidan Shaw, from Overland Park, Kansas:



Pro Insight: How did you get to where you are today?


Aidan Shaw: Alright, so I started playing basketball around kindergarten or pre-school, I’ve been playing it for as long as I can remember. So coming up I would just play for fun, then middle school came around and I realized this is what I want to do when I get older. Basketball is something that I wanted to take and make my life and that’s what it is now. So I’m where I’m at today because of all of the work I’ve put in and my goal in the future is to get to the league and have my impact on the game. Over time I built my drive and worked real hard and now I’m here.


PI: Any athletes in your family?


AS: Yeah, so I have three siblings: one little brother, one little sister, and an older sister. My older sister is in college. She is a senior at Drury University — it’s a D-2 college in Springfield, Missouri, and they’re doing pretty good. She’s been pretty good at basketball for a long time. Then I have my younger sister, she’s in 8th grade and she’s good. She’s got some offers for basketball — she’s like 6’1”, she’s got a jump shot and can handle the ball. Then I’ve got my little brother who is in 6th grade and we’re still developing him and he’s about 5’10” or 5’11”, so he’s getting up there. He’s still developing, but like I said, he’s in 6th grade so he’s still got time behind him and I can help him come up and be a better basketball player. My mom also played basketball in high school for Ruskin High School in Kansas City, Missouri and from what I’ve heard she was pretty good...I haven’t gotten to see her play. And my dad, he played football in high school.


PI: You’re listed at 6’8” — where does your height come from?


AS: So my mom is 5’10” to 5’11” and my dad is around 6’3” or 6’4”. I like to say I get it from my mom’s side because her dad is around 6’4” and her brother is 6’6”. My dad also has family on his side that are taller, on his side it kind of fluctuates and on my mom’s side it’s all there. I mean I’m not really sure honestly, but I like to say I get it from my mom’s side.


PI: Did you play any other sports growing up?


AS: I played baseball and football growing up. I stopped playing baseball my 8th grade year and stayed with basketball and football. I stopped playing football my freshman year, I said I was going to play football this year (junior season), but basketball started picking up and I didn’t want to get injured so I haven’t played football since freshman year.


PI: What positions did you play?


AS: I played QB and WR, but mostly played QB. I was pretty good, I could throw the ball a little bit, I could run and get out of the pocket and get some yardage.


PI: Were you picking up any early college interest in football?


AS: Well freshman year I was playing on the freshman team. Over at my school that’s how they make it, you can move up to varsity if you’re good enough, but freshman play freshman and that’s how it goes. I didn’t really get any recruitment, I don’t think I played well enough yet.


PI: How would you describe the basketball culture in Kansas?


AS: I’d have to say for younger kids coming up, so not college, Kansas isn’t really expected to be all that good, but my team growing up 5-8th grade, we were pretty good. We won the junior NBA World Championship in 8th grade. So I think for younger kids it’s not really expected to be all that, but we work hard down here so I think we’re underrated. College-wise, I think we’re pretty good.


PI: In your opinion, what makes the game of basketball so great?


AS: What makes basketball so great to me is it’s kind of a de-stressor, it’s something that I can play and get my mind off of other things like school and all that and I can just focus on basketball. Then once I’m done with practice or one of my games I can focus on the things I’m dealing with off the court or workout. Basketball helps me de-stress and get my mind off of things which is why I love playing the game so much.


PI: Talk about your favorite all-time memory on the basketball court.


AS: I’d probably have to see getting my first dunk in game or maybe the first time I dunked ever. I believe it was the beginning of 8th grade is when I got my first dunk in game and end of 7th grade is when I first dunked.


PI: For those that aren’t super familiar with your game — what are your greatest strengths?


AS: My biggest strengths as a player I would like to say are my defensive abilities. I know I can guard anybody that I play against and I’m proud to be able to do that. There’s not many people 6’8” tall and mobile like that who can guard the guards and the bigs. So that’s my pride and joy right there, the defensive side. I’m a