Jordan Walsh Q&A

Updated: Jun 11


Credit: @dfritzphotos (IG)

Returning for its second edition, the Pangos All-American Festival featured an invite-only collection of 40 top players representing four regional All-American teams. Over two days, there was no shortage of talent as the four squads competed in thrilling contests at the Amplus Academy - Durango Campus in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Pro Insight covered the event and caught up with Jordan Walsh of Drive Nation (TX). Oozing with physical tools and upside, Walsh is a bouncy 6’7 forward who flourishes in the open court and flashes encouraging glimpses as a playmaker. He recently transferred to Link Academy (MO) and joins a loaded squad featuring 2023 five-star junior Omaha Biliew and 2022 top-20 forward Julian Phillips, among others.

As part of the Pro Insight Q&A series, Walsh talked about aspects of his game he’s working on, his diverse interests off the court, his various post-grad options, and more.

For the next installment of the Pro Insight Q&A series, we present 2022 prospect Jordan Walsh, from Dallas, Texas:



Pro Insight: Reflecting on this summer, how did you feel about the progression of your game?


Jordan Walsh: It’s been good. I had a lot of things that I wanted to work on and get better at, and I feel like I have developed in those areas over the summer, being able to probably play a point guard position and a wing position for my AAU team. So I feel like there’s certain things I wanted to work on and I got a chance to really develop in-game.


PI: For those who aren’t familiar with your game, describe your strengths and playstyle.


JW: I am a driver, but I’ll make open threes if you leave me open. I can create for an open three. I can create for a mid-range, but I’m best when I’m downhill towards the rim. I take pride in defense a lot.


PI: Besides playmaking, is there anything in particular that you have been working on?


JW: Just extending my range from three, just to get prepared for the next level.


PI: Who do you model your game after or try to study on film?


JW: For sure KD, for sure! He’s definitely one, definitely a great.


PI: What are your current measurements?


JW: 6’7, 200 pounds, and 7’2 wingspan.


PI: What is your vertical right now?


JW: I think it’s around 40 inches, that’s what I think it is. Close to 40.


PI: Talk a bit about your background. How did you get into basketball?


JW: It was funny…I was dropped off in Pre-K and I was hanging with my mom and I seen some kids hooping and I just left her and went to hoop. It was like I just forgot she was there so I just instantly fell in love with it.


PI: Did you play any other sports growing up?


JW: I played everything. I tried everything. Baseball, soccer, hockey, football, and golf.


PI: So you have a pretty nice golf swing, too?


JW: S--- I try (laughs), I try. It ain’t nice, but I try.


PI: What are your biggest interests outside of basketball?


JW: I play the game a lot. I’ve been working on developing a brand. I play ping-pong. I like to snowboard. Swimming, scuba diving — that’s pretty much it.


PI: Who is your favorite music artist?


JW: Rod Wave. For sure Rod Wave.


PI: What’s the best advice you’ve ever received?


JW: Just to be myself. I’m the only me so I need to be me. I don’t need to copy nobody.


PI: You have one hashtag to describe yourself. What is it?


JW: #different. Something simple, but it means a lot.


PI: If you were stuck forever on a deserted island and had all the food, water, and shelter you needed — what three personal items would you bring?


JW: Some chapstick, I have to stay with some chapstick. I’ve got to. I’ll probably bring a sword and then maybe a lighter because I don’t know how to make fires without lighters.


PI: What’s your recruitment update?


JW: I’m trying to get a list down, but so much more stuff is coming into play so it's hard for me to get that list.


PI: Who has been in touch the most lately?


JW: Arkansas, Oregon, Arizona State, USC, Kansas, OU, probably the most right there.


PI: There’s a lot more post-grad options available these days with G-League Ignite, OTE, and NBL, among others. Have you done much research into those opportunities?


JW: I have. I recently got an offer from Overtime. I talked to the NBL and the G-League — just trying to discuss what we wanna do, just waiting on the details.


PI: Name four words that best describe you.


JW: Hard worker. Funny. Intelligent. A dog, or aggressive.


PI: At the end of the day, what do you hope to be remembered for?


JW: As a person, I want to be remembered as a guy who is going to tell you the truth no matter what. I want to have a good moral standing. As a hooper, I want to be remembered as a guy who represented a whole group of people who were either too scared to do what I’m doing or didn’t have enough skill to do what I’m doing.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All